Rock of Ages the musical moving to the Garrick theatre


Rock of Ages the musical show in London is transferring from the Shaftesbury theatre to the much smaller venue, the Garrick theatre in January 2013.

The transfer is likely to give Rock of Ages a brand new lease of life, much as happened with Mamma Mia! when it transferred from the Prince Edward theatre to the Prince of Wales theatre.

The Shaftesbury theatre holds 1400 people whereas the Garrick accommodates just 656, making it a much intimate venue and sure to bring the sound of Rock of Ages right to the eardrums of all in the audience, the atmosphere will be electric.  The Garrick Theatre is a West End theatre, located on Charing Cross Road. The theatre is named after David Garrick, the influential Shakespearean actor.

Most recent productions include Chicago which transferred from the Cambridge Theatre and closed earlier in 2012 after 15 years in the West End.

The latest production is Loserville which is based on computer geek Michael Dork and his friends who are about to change the world. You would never expect that the geeks would have inherited the world. But they did! Loserville gives us the seventies with a cast of characters that are totally recognisable and a score that’s entirely contemporary. It closes on the 5th January 2013. There are some great deals on tickets so try to get to see it before it disappears in to cyberspace.

Rock of Ages has been hammered by theatre critics and luvvies alike, just as they did with We Will Rock You, but look at the success of that show 10 years on!

I must admit an appreciation of heavy rock, power ballads or glam rock will likely influence your enjoyment of Rock of Ages, but above all it is a very funny show with some fantastic ad libs. The cast are amazing and the music is thunderous.

Rock of Ages features a whole blast of tunes from the 70’s and 80’s including: Don’t Stop Believin’, We Built This City, The Final Countdown, Wanted Dead or Alive, Here I Go Again, Can’t Fight this Feeling and I Want To Know What Love Is.

The film features the music of several 1980s rock artists including Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, Journey, Scorpions, Poison, Foreigner, Guns N’ Roses, Pat Benatar, Joan Jett, David Lee Roth, Twisted Sister, Whitesnake, and others.

Set in LA’s infamous Sunset Strip in 1987, Rock of Ages tells the story of Drew, a boy from South Detroit, and Sherrie, a small-town girl, both in LA to chase their dreams of making it big and falling in love.

Rock of Ages enjoyed huge success on Broadway as a five-time Tony Award nominated musical. Earlier this year it spawned a movie starring Tom Cruise, Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand and Catherine Zeta-Jones. But the show in London is so much better than the movie plus the live action and live music is what this musical is made for.

‘It will rock your world, a hugely enjoyable evening’ – Alun Palmer, Daily Mirror

‘One of the most unashamedly fun nights out you can have in the West End’ – Alistair Smith, The Stage

 ‘Combines two guilty pleasures in one, and a hefty dose of self mockery’ – Tim Cooper, The Sunday Times

‘Spinal Tap Meets Rocky Horror – A Great Night Out’ – Simon Dale, Heart FM

‘High-energy feel-good nostalgia that will put a smile on your face’ – Charlotte Bradshaw, The Sunday Express

‘My all time favourite! Unbelievably good!’ – Jamie Edwards, Magic FM

Ross Hunter stars as Drew, Tim Howar stars as Stacee Jaxx and Daniel Fletcher as Dennis Dupree.

Songs in the show include:

  • Just Like Paradise
  • Nothin’ but a Good Time
  • Too Much Time on My Hands
  • We Built This City
  • I Wanna Rock
  • We’re Not Gonna Take It
  • More Than Words
  • Heaven
  • To Be with You
  • Waiting for a Girl Like You
  • Wanted Dead or Alive
  • I Want to Know What Love Is
  • Cum on Feel the Noize
  • Harden My Heart
  • Shadows of the Night
  • Here I Go Again
  • The Final Countdown
  • Any Way You Want It
  • High Enough
  • I Hate Myself for Loving You
  • Heat of the Moment
  • Hit Me with Your Best Shot
  • Can’t Fight This Feeling
  • Every Rose Has Its Thorn
  • Keep on Loving You
  • Oh Sherrie
  • The Search Is Over
  • Renegade
  • Don’t Stop Believin’